Posteado por: jljimenezgarcia | abril 18, 2013

Una canción con jerez durante la Ley Seca y otra en una de country

canciónusasherry

KING ALCOHOL

King Alcohol has many forms
By which he catches men
He is a beast of many horns
And ever thus has been.

Chorus:
For there’s rum, and gin, and beer, and wine
And brandy of logwood hue
And hock, and port, and flip combine
To make a man look blue.
He says be merry, for here’s good sherry
And Tom and Jerry, Champagne and Perry,
And spirits of every hue,
O are not these a fiendish crew
As ever a mortal knew
O are these a fiendish crew as ever a mortal knew.

King Alcohol is very sly
A liar from the first
He’ll make you drink until you’re dry
Then drink, because you thirst.

Chorus

King Alcohol has had his day
His kingdom’s crumbling fast
His votaries are heard to say
Our tumbling days are past.

Chorus:
There’s no rum, nor gin, nor beer, nor wine
Nor brandy of any hue
Nor hock, nor port, nor flip combined
To make a man get blue
And now they’re merry, without their sherry
Or Tom and Jerry, champagne and perry
Or spirits of every hue
And now they are a temperate crew
As ever a mortal knew
And now they are a temperate crew
And given the devil his due.

The shout of Washingtonians
Is heard on every gale
They’re chanting now the victory
O’er cider, beer, and ale.

Chorus

http://dig.lib.niu.edu/gildedage/songs/kingalcohol.html

Sherry wine: canción de músca country americana

Prepara las bebidas una vez más
Haz que la mía sea un sherry
Porque  eso es lo que ella solía beber conmigo
Pon la botella en la mesa
Déjala ahí hasta que no pueda más

Para recordar estos viejos momentos

Sé que ella me quiso desde el principio
Y sé que el sentimiento viene desde el fondo de su corazón
Pero ahora su amor ha muerto y ya no está
Y me ha dejado con estos recuerdos

Prepara las bebidas una vez más
Haz que la mía sea un sherry
Porque eso es lo que ella solía beber conmigo
Pon la botella en la mesa
Déjala ahí hasta que no pueda más
Para recordar estos viejos momentos

La botella tomó posesión de mi cuerpo y mi alma
Fui a todos los sitios que sabía que no debería ir
Estuve con otras mujeres y amigos que me gustaría olvidar
Pero ahora ella se ha ido, y sé que la culpa es mía

Prepara las bebidas una vez más
Haz que la mía sea un sherry
Porque  eso es lo que ella solía beber conmigo
Pon la botella en la mesa
Déjala ahí hasta que no pueda más
Para recordar estos viejos momentos

Responder

Categorías

